Players from Eaglehawk Hockey Club completed their 50 year anniversary season by winning Hockey Central Victoria Association awards.

Kylie Ross won triple recognition through ‘A’ grade women Best and Fairest, HCV Coach of the Year, and also Eaglehawk Club Person for 2017. Louis Schenker took out the Association ‘B’ grade men Best and Fairest and Nathan Davis was awarded Bendigo’s Best Under 17 player, with Katrina Bales receiving Volunteer of the Year.

Eaglehawk “A” Grade Women’s hockey team narrowly missed capping its half-century season with a premiership win, when results were 3 all at the final whistle, only to finish runners-up following penalty shootouts. Our junior Under 15 mixed team also were runners-up in their division. With no finals played in Under 9’s and 11’s, Eaglehawk finished the season in top spot. Senior players proudly wore the new striking 50th Anniversary shirts, which received many positive comments.

Many members represented Eaglehawk at higher levels; State League Blazers, Junior and Senior Country Championships. Several juniors featured at The International Festival of Hockey matches as ambassadors, escorting Australia and international teams onto the fi eld, with seniors acting as mascots and volunteers at this wonderful event.

Club presentations were made to Best and Fairest winners, Tamara Paull, Louis Schenker, Hayley McNaughton, Liam Langford, Declan Beatty, Musetta Choi-Hatcher and Jasper Brown.

Runner-up awards went to Kylie Ross, Douglas Scougall, Marlow Choi-Hatcher, Nathan Davis, Connor Filcock, Grace Bales, Caelan Berry, Zoe Ross and Caitlyn Brew. Recipients of the coaches awards were Samara Scarff, Hayden Pagram, Natalie Keating, Prue Harrison, Ryan Suselj and Felicity Willcox.

Eaglehawk Hockey Club has a strong band of hard working volunteers, and a highlight of the awards night was the recognition of Club personnel through anniversary appreciation certificates to President – Ross Trimble, Minutes Secretary – Kylie Ross, Treasurer/Secretary – Janine Andrews, Life Members – Kaye Trimble and Sue Andrews, Coaches – Kylie Ross, Tess Martin, Darby Graham, Scott Hatcher, Daniel Gibbons, Brett Huthnance, Ian Berry, Janine Andrews and Paul Trimble (Vic League Men) and Managers – Susan Keating, Brett Huthnance, Sharyn McGowan, Andrew Creer, Lisa Bortolotto and Fraser Lourie.

All members were presented with a 50 year commemorative banner to reflect on this special year in the future.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here